What inspires me? Droid Does…No Really…It does!


I have written similar posts to this one before. I keep writing them because they always change. When I say “they”, I mean the things that inspire. For me there are “absolutes of inspiration” (Wife, Kids, ocean, creation in general) But sometimes there are new things. New things that catch you by surprise.

Lately I have found one of those new things.  I have found it in the simple unprofessional lens of my Android phone camera. That’s right I said PHONE camera. I have more expensive cameras of course. I am even an alum of the New York Institute of Photography.  So what would make me use this little camera on my phone as inspiration? Simple. The Challenge. The challenge is that in the absence of quality you must make up for it in substance. You must take a GREAT photograph that can even overcome the shoddy quality of a  phone that is like umpteen MP smaller than my “real” camera. I love it. …No. They cant be sold. They wont get published.  However, They will inspire you to search harder for that great shot. It will drive you to capture your family and life experiences in the moment. So put down the nice professional equipment…as hard as it may be. Throw your phone in your pocket and go get that perfect or not-so-perfect shot. It will get your juices flowing and drive you to create more perfection in whatever art form you enjoy the most.

By the way. I have found the coolest little place to share your photos is on picplz. Great apps for Android and iPhone. Simple quick and lots of cool filters. Great social site for JUST pix.

For more things that can inspire hop over to this post by my friend Melissa Beaver. I think my readers will find her honest and refreshing: The Pleated Polka Dot.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

